John Barlow's blog

John Barlow's blog

Retro-noir

Crime fictionPosted by John Barlow Sat, May 19, 2012 10:06:40
Here's a new crime novel from me, which is currently available on Amazon:

US - UK

I love the cover. It's by Stuart Bache and is reminiscent of the old Penguin covers. It really captures the light, noir-ish atmosphere of the book. Here's an article I wrote about the book's unusual journey to publication.

And here's the blurb:

WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO JERRY PICCO?

Farewell My Lovely meets Californication.

Meet Jack Storm PhD, disgraced ex-college professor and unlicensed PI. Since getting turfed out of Berkeley for violent misconduct, he's turned his brains and his 250-pound frame to solving crimes. Working out of Los Angeles (and the trunk of his 20 year-old Mercedes Benz), Jack has finally found his true place in life: the gutter.

When Jerry Picco goes missing, Jack is called in to help. Picco is the world's greatest 'erotic actor', and his disappearance has come at a difficult time for the diminutive porn star. He's left a heap of debt, a career in nosedive, and a screen partner with plenty reasons to want him gone.

Jack has his own reasons for trying to find him. Apart from anything else, he's one of Jerry's biggest fans. The only clues he's got: a Polaroid of seven little men in the woods, and some story about a princess.

For fans of Carl Hiaasen and Janet Evanovich, What Ever Happened to Jerry Picco? is a romp of a noir from prize-winning author John Barlow.


  • Comments(0)//blog.johnbarlow.net/#post11